Mount Kenya University established the Department of Education following the grant of Letter of Interim Authority by the then Commission of Higher Education in 2008.

Due to the need to facilitate upgrading of competences and skills by primary and secondary schools teachers, the school started offering school-based programmes in 2009. In 2010 the department of Education was upgraded into the School of Education with; the Department of Education Management and Department of Early Childhood. Also due to the need to expand access to the University programmes, virtual-based learning was introduced in 2010. In 2015, the departments in the School of Education were increased to four. Following the need assessment survey which was conducted in 2016 and whose findings indicated some shortcomings about school-based education programmes, the programmes were rebranded, “Distance and Institution-Based Learning” housed in a full Directorate of Distance and Institution-Based Learning.

The vision of the School is to be an inclusive, dynamic and competitive centre of excellence in teaching, research and community service.


To provide quality teacher education, training and inculcate moral values for sustainable individual and societal development.

Academic Resources in the School of Education

The School of Education provides to faculty staff and students, services which include computer labs, micro-teaching laboratory, language laboratory, and educational resource centers.