Mount Kenya University (MKU) is a Chartered University committed to offering holistic education. MKU has embraced the internationalization agenda of higher education. The University promotes access to higher education by establishing Campuses and Open, Distance and E-Learning (ODEL) Centres in different geographical areas in East Africa and beyond.  The University Main campus is located in Thika town, with other Campuses in Nairobi, Parklands, Mombasa, Nakuru, Eldoret, Meru, and Kigali Rwanda. The University has ODeL Centres located in Malindi, Kisumu, Kitale, Kakamega, Kisii and Kericho and marketing offices located in Isiolo, Nyeri, and country offices in Kampala in Uganda, Bujumbura in Burundi, Hargeisa in Somaliland and Garowe in Puntland.

The University’s academic programmes are innovative and responsive to the immediate and long-term national and international scientific and technological needs. In addition to accreditation by the Commission for University Education, programmes are also accredited by different accrediting bodies in the region. MKU admits both Government-sponsored and self –sponsored students who enrol in various study modes; Regular, part-time, Open Distance and electronic Learning (ODeL) and Distance, Institution-Based and e-learning (DIBeL).

Mount Kenya University is ISO 9001:2015 Certified and a member of the following associations:

  1. Inter-University Council for East Africa
  2. Association of Common Wealth Universities
  3. Association of African Business Schools (AABS)
  4. United Nation Academic Impact (UNAI)
  5. The Talloires Network of Engaged Universities

The University has a three-tier mandate; Teaching, Research and Community Outreach which is guided by the following vision, mission and philosophy;

"To be a Global Hub of Excellence in Education, Research and Innovation"

"To provide world class education, research and innovation for global transformation and sustainable development."

Innovation ,Excellence, Integrity and Unity of Purpose