Mount Kenya University (MKU) is a Chartered University committed to a broad-based, holistic and inclusive system of education.


14 campuses and centre


Kagarama Campus with hostels, swimming pool and Royal FM Radio


Study Centre at Kampala


ODeL study Centre


ODeL study Centre at Bujumbura


Study Centre at Puntland

Mount Kenya University Main campus is located in Thika, with other campuses in Nairobi, Parklands, Mombasa, Nakuru, Eldoret, Nkubu, Meru, Kakamega and Kisii. The University has study centres in Malindi, Kisumu, Nyeri and Kericho and marketing offices in Garissa, Isiolo and Kitale

MKU has a Management Board (MB), which is responsible for the implementation of the university policies and undertakes the day-to-day management of the University affairs.  The MKU Senate is in charge of all academic matters in accordance with the University Charter. The University is ISO 9001:2015 Certified and is a member of Inter-University Council for East Africa, African Association of Universities, and Association of Commonwealth Universities.

MKU has successfully established partnership with like-minded institutions of higher learning around the globe. Currently the University has over 50 partnerships and linkages at local, regional and international levels.

Schools, Institutes and Accreditation

The University has a three (3) institutes namely: Equip Africa Institute, Institute of Security, Justice and Ethics and Institute of Films, Performing and Creative Arts, one (1) College( Equip Africa College of Health Sciences) and  13 schools namely: Medical School; Public Health; Nursing; Clinical Medicine; Pharmacy; Law; Pure and Applied Sciences; Engineering Energy and Built Environment; Education; Computing and Informatics; Hospitality, Travel and Tourism Management; Social Sciences and School of Business and Economics.

In addition to the Commission for University Education, MKU programmes are accredited by the following professional bodies: Pharmacy and Poisons Board (PPB); The Kenya Nutritionists & Dieticians Institute (KNDI); Clinical Officers Council (COC); Kenya Medical Practitioners and Dentist Board (KMPDB); Public Health Officers and Technicians Council (PHOTC); Nursing Council of Kenya (NCK); Commission for Legal Education (CLE) and Kenya Medical Laboratory Technologist and Technicians Board (KMLTTB).

The Main Campus is located along General Kago Road, Thika town about 45 kilometres from Kenya’s capital city, Nairobi. MKU has 16 campuses and marketing centres spread both within the country and the greater East African region.

How to reach us

Physical address: Mount Kenya University, Post Office Box Number 342-01000, Thika,


Facebook: Mount Kenya University

Twitter: MountKenyaUni


Unlocking Infinite Possibilities